Card Counting: The Revision Technique Revealed…

Am I the only one who has not heard of Loci, the ‘Memory Palace’ technique that is taking the Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 21.24.52.pngworld of revision by storm until recently? (Yeah I thought I might not be the only one.)  Well please let me enlighten you…

Loci is an Ancient Greek technique to help enhance the storing of information (often the technique used by card counters)

Step One: memorise the layout of a familiar building, arrangement of shops on a street, or any geographical place which is composed of a number of loci (memorable features).

Step Two: Walk around that location in your mind a couple of times picking out at least ten loci (memorable features) within that place.

Step Three: Walk around your location again and this time add an item (that links in some way to a concept or idea you need to remember) to each of the loci. So that each of your ten loci have a specific item (linked to an idea you must remember).

Step Four: When you walk back through your location you will only need to remember the ten loci points which will then link to the item (memory recall of idea/ concept for your exam).

Here is an example: (from the perspective of a teacher presenting a Memory Palace for students to remember ideas)

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 20.58.15.png

Here is a way for students to apply it to their revision:

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 20.58.23.png(The chimpanzee, beagle and Victoria sponge are more unusual ways to remember the key parts of Evolution)

Confession Booth Time: I have not tried this with my students…but I have tried it (not sure remembering my shopping list really counts though.) It is on my list of activities to try…so I will post on my success (?) when I am feeling adventurous.

Leave a Reply

